Sunday, January 10, 2010

The Outlander Series

I know it has been forever since I have posted a "Book of the Week", but I think it's time! I just haven't read anything good on awhile! During the time I was sick last month, I started reading a series of books called "Outlander" by Diana Gabaldon. I instantly fell in love! I just finished reading book #3 and am getting ready to start on book #4. I believe there are 7 books so far in the series.

The first book, "Outlander" is about a English WWII nurse, Claire. Claire and her husband, Frank, are taking a holiday in Scotland, after being separated from the war. While there, Claire hears of the mysteries of the standing stones on the hill of Craigh na Dun and the power they hold. Claire's curiosity gets the better of her and she decides to go to the stones. She makes a leap into the crack of one of the stones and is instantly transported back in time to 1743 Scotland. Being from the 20th century and English, she runs into some trouble at the start of her journey.

Read to find out how Claire adjusts to her new life and the new time period she is living in. Will she return to the 20th century, to a life she knows and a loving husband? Or will she be held captive by a bunch a rouge Scottish Highlanders?

You should be able to find the book from your local library, or on Amazon.

#1 Outlander
#2 Dragon Fly in Amber
#3 Voyager
#4 Drums of Autumn
#5 Fiery Cross
#6 Breath of Snow and Ashes
#7 An Echo in the Bone
(picture taken from